Bitcoin Goddess

All the Lands Shall Adopt Anonymous Currency

Generate Your Own Vanity Bitcoin Address With VanityGen for Ubuntu

Fantasy Vanity Address
I just downloaded VanityGen for my Linux machine, yay!
It was super simple, too:

First, I opened up my trusty terminal and made sure I was in my home folder, which is normally kept rather tidy.
You can check which directory you are in by entering pwd

I then entered:

sudo apt-get install build-essential git libssl-dev libpcre3-dev

Once it has finished installing, you may then download the git repository that contains some essential files necessary to make vanitygen work. Just enter:

git clone https://github.com/samr7/vanitygen.git

After that has finished, just change directories into your brand new vanitygen folder:

cd vanitygen

Last step, enter:

make

If your computer is stubborn about it, run it with sudo:

sudo make

That should do it…

Then it is time to play!
cd into vanitygen folder and run it:

./vanitygen

then choose a unique address you would like to use and try to find it:

./vanitygen 1ExAMPLE

It may take awhile, so be patient!

The more complicated or longer the string, the longer it will take…  and you may not even get it at all probably. So it is probably best to keep your desired string short, I am supposing.

The address I am currently trying for is estimated to take about 3 weeks! But others who use vanitygen seem to fare better, they must not be as ambitious as I…  (No, it is not the example in the featured image above. That would be completely unreasonable!)

An update will follow if I actually am able to attain my desired BTC address. Keep a good thought for me.

 

Discussion Arena

