Bitcoin Goddess

All the Lands Shall Adopt Anonymous Currency

Install and Configure the IXcoin Wallet Daemon for Linux

IXcoin.org

 

IXcoin is yet another fork of Bitcoin source code that looked to have a promising future as well. I am not so certain of this in the short-term anymore since the exchanges that supported IXC have either retired or discontinued that support. I am hopeful that once there are better options for crypto-currency brokerages, that IXC will step into the limelight alongside PPC and perhaps even LTC.

With the Bit Parking Exchange closing down and Vircurex discontinuing their IXcoin support by April 14, it is essential for those with an existing balance of IXC to have an alternate wallet.

The crypto-coin exchanges have been getting attacked with increasing aggressiveness as Bitcoin becomes more mainstream. It leaves those that have been victimized by such attacks with little to no confidence in these new and not-so-meticulously-secured exchange markets. This is a large problem with currency that is unregulated, anyone can be a broker for it without a license. It was the same with the foreign exchange brokers not too long ago.

A desktop wallet for IXcoin does, of course, exist… Unfortunately, it is the only wallet installation thus far that I have had issue with. The good news is that it does not appear to have any bugs, but it is a bit tricky to get running because it needs a little configuring.

Go to ixcoin.org and download the Linux package because if you are not running Linux, this article will not help you much.

It is the same old routine, the “ixcoind” is located in either the “32” or “64” folder which is located in the “bin” folder that you will find directly upon entering the ixcoin-0.3.24.3 folder.

When I first attempted to do the standard double click on the ixcoind, nothing happened. So next I opened the terminal to run it manually:

me@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64$ ./ixcoind -h          ##the ./ is the command to run the following file, -h simply asks for help with the command, UNIX can be very helpful##

 
Warning: To use ixcoind, you must set rpcpassword=<password>
in the configuration file: /home/me/.ixcoin/ixcoin.conf
If the file does not exist, create it with owner-readable-only file permissions.

 

me@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64$ touch /home/me/.ixcoin/ixcoin.conf       ##touch simply created a file in the listed location, the elusive ixcoin.conf file##

Next, I set the permissions. I decided to go against the instructions and give the file read and write privileges for the owner, instead:

me@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64$ ls -al !$      ##!$ is a short cut, so the long pathway that was just typed does not need to keep being repeated##
-rw-rw-r– 1 me me 0 Apr 2 22:24 /home/me/.ixcoin/ixcoin.conf

me@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64$ chmod g-r !$

me@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64$ ls -al /home/me/.ixcoin/ixcoin.conf
-rw–w-r– 1 me me 0 Apr 2 22:24 /home/me/.ixcoin/ixcoin.conf

me@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64$ chmod g-w !$

me@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64$ ls -al /home/me/.ixcoin/ixcoin.conf
-rw—-r– 1 me me 0 Apr 2 22:24 /home/me/.ixcoin/ixcoin.conf

me@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64$ chmod a-r !$

me@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64$ ls -al /home/me/.ixcoin/ixcoin.conf
-rw——- 1 me me 0 Apr 2 22:24 /home/me/.ixcoin/ixcoin.conf

me@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64$ sudo vi !$
[sudo] password for me:

 

{all I did here was to set the “rpcpassword=<password>” as directed. It could be anything I guess. For example, rpcpassword=flaggleblatt (remember to omit the brackets). If you are not familiar with the VI editor, there are a mass of tutorials online}

 

me@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64$ ./ixcoind

Ixcoin version 0.3.24.30-beta      ##Yay! It has no GUI, but it works##

Alright, that was the easy part… bear with me now. The next part installs all the pieces needed to create the missing GUI.

me@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64$ ./ixcoin

 

./ixcoin: error while loading shared libraries: libjpeg.so.62: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

 

me@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64$ sudo -s       ##had to temporarily log in as root##
[sudo] password for me:
root@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64# apt-get update

{many, many missing packages, libraries, etc. omitted for sake of length}

Fetched 24.8 MB in 51s (483 kB/s)
Reading package lists… Done

root@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64# apt-cache search libjpeg       ##had to find an appropriate libjpeg62 package##

libjpeg-dev – Independent JPEG Group’s JPEG runtime library (dependency package)
libjpeg-turbo8 – IJG JPEG compliant runtime library.
libjpeg-turbo8-dbg – Debugging symbols for the libjpeg-turbo library
libjpeg-turbo8-dev – Development files for the IJG JPEG library
libjpeg62 – Independent JPEG Group’s JPEG runtime library (version 6.2)
libjpeg62-dbg – Development files for the IJG JPEG library (version 6.2)
libjpeg62-dev – Development files for the IJG JPEG library (version 6.2)
libjpeg8 – Independent JPEG Group’s JPEG runtime library (dependency package)
libjpeg8-dbg – Independent JPEG Group’s JPEG runtime library (dependency package)
libjpeg8-dev – Independent JPEG Group’s JPEG runtime library (dependency package)
gem-plugin-jpeg – Graphics Environment for Multimedia – JPEG support
imgsizer – Adds WIDTH and HEIGHT attributes to IMG tags in HTML files
jp2a – converts jpg images to ascii
libjpeg-progs – Programs for manipulating JPEG files (dependency package)
libjpeg-turbo-progs – Programs for manipulating JPEG files
libjpeg-turbo-test – Program for benchmarking and testing libjpeg-turbo

root@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64# apt-get install libjpeg62-dev

Reading package lists… Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information… Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
libjpeg62
The following NEW packages will be installed:
libjpeg62 libjpeg62-dev
0 upgraded, 2 newly installed, 0 to remove and 227 not upgraded.
Need to get 284 kB of archives.
After this operation, 662 kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]?
Get:1 http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ raring/main libjpeg62 amd64 6b1-3ubuntu1 [89.3 kB]
Get:2 http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ raring/main libjpeg62-dev amd64 6b1-3ubuntu1 [194 kB]
Fetched 284 kB in 1s (233 kB/s)
Selecting previously unselected package libjpeg62:amd64.
(Reading database … 169546 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking libjpeg62:amd64 (from …/libjpeg62_6b1-3ubuntu1_amd64.deb) …
Selecting previously unselected package libjpeg62-dev:amd64.
Unpacking libjpeg62-dev:amd64 (from …/libjpeg62-dev_6b1-3ubuntu1_amd64.deb) …
Setting up libjpeg62:amd64 (6b1-3ubuntu1) …
Setting up libjpeg62-dev:amd64 (6b1-3ubuntu1) …
Processing triggers for libc-bin …
ldconfig deferred processing now taking place

root@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64# exit            ##needed to exit as root##

me@comp:~/ixcoin-0.3.24.3/bin/64$ ./ixcoin
ixcoin server starting

 

{Note: if it complains it may already be running, type the command “ps -ef |grep ixcoin” to search for the process ids associated with the ixcoin app, then kill the ids labeled with “daemon”. After that, run ./ixcoin again, it should pop right up.}

 

Yay! It works!

 

As you can see, it was not that big of a deal, just some missing files… All it takes is a little patience and a little more typing and voila, you’ve got yourself an IXC wallet and now you can stop stressing over the exchange markets.

 

If you found this article helpful, consider sending some IXcoin to my IXC address: xudSZgDjePab9ouWQ4cSz9UBh2XwC4bzfK

 

One comment on “Install and Configure the IXcoin Wallet Daemon for Linux

  1. test
    Monday 6 October, 2014

    Thx worked. Saved me a lots of time.

Discussion Arena

Information

This entry was posted on Monday 8 April, 2013 by in Finance, IXcoin and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

The Goddess Tweets!

Find me on Facebook

